Keystone UNICO Under New Leadership


UNICO - New President

Cathy Gerard was recently installed as the sixth president of Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO National by past UNICO National President Glenn Pettinato.

Pictured with Cathy are members of her immediate family and UNICO National Officers.

Seated from left are Marisa Scalese and Theresa LaNunziata; Keystone UNICO president Cathy Gerard; Margaret Caterino, Cathy’s mother; Cathy Bianchi, immediate past chapter president; Dolly Caterino and Debbie Whitbeck.  

Standing, same order: Mark McDade, PA II District Governor; Al Caterino, Dave Whitbeck, and Carl Bianchi, family; and Glenn Pettinato, past national president and Installing Officer.  


Leadership Lackawanna Honors Core Program Graduates

Leadership Lackawanna photo

Leadership Lackawanna recently honored its 2017 Core Program Graduates at a Celebration of Leadership dinner and graduation ceremony at The Hilton Scranton and Conference Center.

Shown in the front row, from left: Christopher J. Szewczyk, Esq., Mazzoni Karam Petorak & Valvano; Carrie A. Balashaitis, TMG Health;  Dragan Jokic, Fidelity Bank; David Richard Humphreys, Lackawanna County District Attorney’s Office; Deborah Flynn, Ph.D. , Luzerne County Community College; Robert M. Knight Jr., The University of Scranton; Brad J. Kovaleski, Penn State University Worthington Scranton Campus; David Morrison, Toyota of Scranton; and Shawn T. Scouten, Wells Fargo.

Middle row: Jonathan Tobin, Penn State Worthington Scranton; Meghan E. Loftus, Northeastern Pennsylvania Alliance; Angela Burke, TMG Health; Anthony Ferrese, Lackawanna College; Lauren Marie Perry, FreshySites; Patrick S. Connolly, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Michelle Rake, Gertrude Hawk Chocolates; and Kathleen Bird, Benco Dental.

Back row: Sara D. Samala, Gertrude Hawk Chocolates;  Michael Wisneski, Everhart Museum of Natural History, Science & Art; Douglas Mielnicki, Procter & Gamble; Charles Scott Winschuh, Prudential Retirement; Matthew Donnelly, Procter & Gamble; Robert E. Hagenbaugh, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Angela Berardelli, DaVita Dialysis; and Michelle Georgetti, Valley Community Library.

Fidelity Bank Presents Donation to Leadership Lackawanna

Fidelity Bank photo

Fidelity Bank recently presented a $5,000 check to Leadership Lackawanna through the Pennsylvania Educational Improvement Tax Credit Program to support various programming.

Leadership Lackawanna is Northeastern Pennsylvania’s premier community leadership and professional development organization. Its three areas – Core, Executive and Tomorrow’s Leaders Today – enhance the skills and knowledge of emerging and advanced professionals, enabling them to better serve in their organization and communities.  Established in 1982, Leadership Lackawanna has graduated more than 2,000 community leaders. 

Shown from left in photo: Daniel J. Santaniello President and Chief Executive Officer, Fidelity Bank; Nicole Morristell, director, Leadership Lackawanna, and Salvatore R. DeFrancesco, Jr. Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Fidelity Bank.


Dunmorean Receives Award for Leadership

Tyler Ward

Tyler Ward, M.S., of Dunmore, assistant director for housing and residence life at Marywood University, recently received the 2017 Raymond P. Heath Leadership Award for his outstanding service to student life at Marywood University.

Ward met all of the criteria set for the Raymond P. Heath Leadership Award, including the following qualities: Consistency, being keenly aware of the need to treat people equally by developing clear policies and adhering to them; Development, recognizing the potential in others; Harmony, looking for consensus, seeking areas of agreement; Positive Attitude, upbeat attitude in work and social interactions with colleagues; and Student Affairs Commitment, working with and for students to help them gain the maximum success and benefit from their college experience and to promote the personal growth and development of the “whole” student.

The characteristics and qualities that this award represents were inspired by Dr. Raymond Heath, who served as vice president for student life at Marywood University from 1996-2014. A true leader in the student life field, Dr. Heath championed both the students and Marywood University as a whole,  but he also was keenly interested in the professional development of those who worked and thrived under his leadership.

For additional information about Marywood University’s housing and residence life department, please visit or call (570) 348-6236.