88 Graduate from Holy Cross High School

Holy Cross High School held its commencement ceremonies on Friday, June 1, featuring 88 graduates at Sette LaVerghetta Center for the Performing Arts, Marywood University. Benjamin D. Tolerico is principal. Commencement speaker was Most Rev. Joseph C. Bambera, D.D.J.C.I., Bishop of Scranton.


Christina Shaffern is valedictorian of the Holy Cross Class of 2018.

A baccalaureate mass was held on Thursday, May 31, at Cathedral of St. Peter, celebrated by Rev. Cyril D. Edwards, Holy Cross High School chaplain.

Valedictorian of the 2018 graduating class as Christina Shaffern, daughter of Elizabeth and Robert Shaffern of Scranton.

Salutatorian was Allison McGee, daughter of Maria and Daniel McGee of Peckville.

A total of 83 class members will be attending college, while others are entering the Armed Services or entering employment or other post-secondary training. The total value of scholarships awarded to graduates is $16,606,918.

MCGEE ALLISON, salutatorian

Allison McGee is salutatorian of the Holy Cross Class of 2018.

Graduates include: Amanda Michelle Alfano, Neena Beggin, Rosalie Catherine Bennie, Christian Alexander Bloom, Anna Mary Boles, Thomas Logan Bright, Mollie Lynn Burda, Carson Anthony Cacioppo; Angela James Calciano, Matthew Thomas Cerep, Nicholas Charles Cerep, Nicholas Cicci, Christian Colaiezzi, Emma Rose Connelly, Brigit Coolican and Ashlynn Celia Cos.

Also, Cameron Kanani D’Andrea, Harleigh Christina Davis, Joseph James DeGrazia, Ryan Michael Dugan, Alexis Dutkevitch, Debbie Duverge, John Charles Egan, Hannah Helen Evans, Megan Rose Farrell, Nick Ferraro, Jaclyn Rachel Finnerty, Patrick Shane Galvin, Jennifer Ann Gillern, Kirsten Marie Gillern, Nicole Gillette, Anthony King Gilliotti, Griffin John Gilroy, Jared Emanuel Griffin, Alicia P. Griffiths, Sarah Lyndal Hankee, Quinn Harrison, Eric Earl Hartman, Kelsey Sueann Hartman, Brendan Eugene Herbert, Abigail Hoban, Bruce John Hughes.

Also, Juliana Seraphina Innocenti, Ronald James, Elisabeth Johnson, Casey Linda Bridget Joyce, Anysia Jurgiewica, Jason Edward Kopf, Karli Ruth Bernadette Kozel, Tyler Robert Kuchwara, Lindsey Marie Leppo, Alex Lopez, Isabel Lopez, Destiny Kay Marino, Angelica Marie Matthews, Allison Marie McGee, Michael David Minich, Aurora Moncelli, Conor Joseph Nealon, Madeline Nicoll Neville, Thomas Roland Niemiec, Juliana Alexander Nieto, Nicholas Joseph Novobilski, Megan Shalyne O’Brien.

Also, Kevin Michael Parchinski, Maura Ann Perri, Mariah Ann Elizabeth Petrucci, Carl Joseph Pettinato IV, David Pfoestl, Matthew John Piccoletti, Dominic Luciano Possanza, Ryanne Danielle Rocco, Emily Theresa Romanski, Morgan Ann Sewak, Christina L. Shaffern, Daniel P.F. Shields, Cassandra Lynn Sporko, Kayla Elziabeth Stelma, Daniel Aaron Stolten.

Also, Nathaniel Mark Talbot, Matthew James Troiani, Laurelai M. Vanston, Alexis Nicole Walsh, Jillian Marie Warabak, John Robert Warner, William Robert White, Soren Darby Yadlosky, and Karly Jean Zindle.



Leadership Lackawanna Graduates

Leadership Lackawanna

Leadership Lackawanna recently announced its 2017 Executive Program graduates.

The Executive Program assists professionals in becoming more engaged in the community, broadens their social network and increases their overall knowledge of the Greater Scranton region.

Graduates include, front row from left:  Robbie Risley, board chair, Leadership Lackawanna; Susan Turell, Theresa Yocum, Tracy Brundage, Robert M. Knight Jr., Ross Cordaro, Carrie Gubanics, John Phillips, and Nicole Morristell, director, Leadership Lackawanna. Back row: John J. Matlock, Tammy McHale, Kathleen Barry, Melissa Kelleher, Barbara Maculloch, Mark McHugh and Ron Beer.

From Marywood Students to Physician Assistants

PA pinning ceremony photo

Nearly 40 Marywood University students, including one from Dunmore recently graduated from the Physician Assistant program. Sr. Mary Persico, IHM, Ed.D., president of Marywood University, welcomed the students at a special pinning ceremony to commemorate their achievements.

Pictured first row, from left: Alicia Edwards, Kimberly Vogan, Catherine Notchick, Dunmore.; Cassandra Nuzzarello, Carlie Craven, Whitney Butler, and Sr. Mary Persico, IHM, Ed.D., president of Marywood.

Second row: Justine Samanas, MPAS, PA-C, clinical director; Zeena Attia, Andrea Chamberlain, Melissa Kaminski, Amanda Kilgus, Casey VanFleet, Cassandra Erdman, Alissa Dongilli, Renae Keiper, Emily Ketz, and Bianca Noel.

Third row: Jessica Frawley, MPAS, PA-C, clinical coordinator; Rachel DeStefano, Noel Bricker, Valerie Golembeski, Taylor Schroeder, Kaukauna, Wis.; Sierra Bellenzeni, Katie Shager, Jessica Wadeson, Danielle Higgins, Michele Myszka, Amy Kester, Molly Feeney, and Jessica Nalepka.

Fourth row: Lori Swanchak, Ph.D., PA-C, PA program director; Davis Young, Alex Latham, Paul Hashagen, Tyler Longstreet, Keaton Bennett, Kyle Viola, Andrew Andrle, George Ritz, Kam Mueller, Adam Yngelmo, and Abigail Davis, MPAS, PA-C, PA academic director.


Dunmoreans Earn Degrees from Lackawanna College

LCLogoFUTURE1Lackawanna College awarded more than 370 associate degrees and certificates to students from 15 states during its 123rd commencement on May 20 in the College’s Student Union in downtown Scranton.

The following Dunmore students earned degrees and certificates: Pasquale Joseph Mandarano, Associate in Applied Science, Accounting; Thomas Swinick, Business Studies; Lin Zhu, Cardiac Sonography; Sardar Shahzeb Khan, Computer Information Systems; Kaitlin Rose Gardier, Criminal Justice-Counseling; Brandon Michael Kukawski and Robert J. Seprish, Criminal Justice-Police; Kaitlin Rose Gardier, Human Services; Al Husayn Al Mukhtar Abu Bakr, Elisabeth Jamison Padula, and Shannon Margaret Regan, Liberal Studies; Laurel Nicole Leppo, Sport Management.

Lackawanna College is a private, accredited two-year college serving the people of Northeastern Pennsylvania.

With a main campus situated in downtown Scranton, Lackawanna’s expanding footprint also includes satellite centers in Hawley, Hazleton, New Milford, Sunbury, and Towanda.