Athlete of the Month: Alex Terrery

Athlete of the Month - Alex TerreryBy Steve Svetovich

McGinty’s has been in the Dunmore Freedom League championship for two consecutive years and one of the big reasons why is Dunmore and Penn State graduate Alex Terrery.

Terrery, who received a B.S. in Information Technology and Sciences in 2016 from Penn State, is a shortstop-pitcher for McGinty’s.

Son of Charlie and Faith Terrery, Dunmore, he played four years of baseball at Dunmore High School where he was a pitcher-first baseman and all-star in his senior year. He played three years of baseball at Penn State Worthington as a pitcher-shortstop. He was named to the all-star team as a shortstop in his junior year there.

His dad at 58 is in his second year playing in the Dunmore Freedom League. The oldest player in the league, he is Alex’s teammate.

“Playing with my dad is a lot of fun,” Alex said. “He is living his dream. I never thought he would be playing at 58, but he is hitting the ball.”

Alex has been working for the past year at TMG Health, Jessup, where he is a production coordinator. “I love it. I work on computers. I do computer information technology work.”

His baseball coach at Dunmore was Mark Finan. “He is a great guy. He’s a tremendous baseball coach. I learned a lot from him. He teaches you to be a team player. That is what it’s all about.”

His coaches at Penn State were Steve Plevyak and James McAndrew. “I played under coach McAndrew with the Diamond Dogs fall team for a couple years in junior high and high school. He taught me a lot about baseball. I love him as a coach. I learned the most from him over the years.”

Alex said his mom and dad have been huge influences.

“They made me what I am today. They taught me respect. They taught me to respect everyone, especially your elders. I can go to them for anything.”

The baseball lifer said he loved Dunmore High School. “It’s a great school with great people. We had a great principal in Mr. Forgione. The school teaches kids to respect everyone. It’s not all about winning, but having fun and treating your coaches, teammates and opponents with respect.

“People who live in Dunmore never want to leave.”

Alex has a bright future ahead. “Playing in the Dunmore Freedom League the past four years has been a blast. It is the only competitive baseball league I can still play in, so I will go as long as I can. I love playing baseball.

“As for work, I love what I do. I love Dunmore, but will go where the job takes me. I want to,live a normal life and raise a family someday.”

 

Leave a Reply

