Dunmorean of the Month: Taylor Perry

Dunmorean of the Month - Taylor PerryBy Steve Svetovich

Dunmore High School graduate Taylor Perry and her fiancé Josh McWilliams started a chiropractic business in the borough this past November and business is starting to boom.

Daughter of John and Leann Perry, Dunmore, Taylor, 27, is a 2008 graduate of Dunmore High School.

She received a bachelor of science degree in Kinesiology from Temple University in 2012. She finished with a 3.4 grade point average and added a certificate in Spanish for health professions.

Taylor also studied abroad in Spain during her college years and was one of the founders of the Chiropractic Club at Temple University.

During her time at Dunmore High School, Taylor was a member of the softball team, the national honor society and the yearbook staff.

Taylor went on from Temple to graduate from Palmer Chiropractic College in Daytona Beach, Fla., in 2016. She spent three and one-half years there.

She and her fiancé, who is from Wisconsin, opened up Dunmore Family Chiropractic, 439 East Drinker St., Dunmore, this past November.

“It is just the two of us,” she said. “We do the billing, office work, treatments and everything.”

dunmore chiropracticTaylor said she expects to grow quickly. “We are looking to expand. We want to hire an associate and branch out into supplements, nutrition and health foods. We have also hired a massage therapist. We can do x-rays on site.

“We want to offer our clients everything possible to lead healthy lives.”

The young chiropractor said she and her fiancé accept most insurances. “The location here in Dunmore could not be better. There are so many people who drive by and see our sign. The practice is doing great. We are getting a lot of referrals.”

Taylor said she is a big believer in a holistic approach to healing. “I like to teach clients to try to be healthy first. People are opening their eyes to chiropractic care and taking a more holistic approach initially. We are finding that opioids and pain medicine do not often help. It can be a cover up to the problem at hand. We want to fix the problem and not hide it.”

Taylor said her parents were a big inspiration to her. “Both of my parents own businesses and were always very hard working. My dad owns Perry Contracting in Dunmore and my mom owns Leanne’s Academy of Learning, a day care and pre-school.

“Because of what I saw in them, I always knew I would own my own business.”

The road to chiropractic school came after a little soul searching.

temple“I always wanted to help people and work with my hands. I worked with my hands helping my dad in his contracting business.

“I didn’t want to go to medical school. And I wanted to help people naturally. I shadowed a chiropractor who spoke in one of my classes at Temple. And that was it. I made my decision then.”

Taylor, industrious and ambitious, is enjoying every minute of her profession. “I just want to be a part of people’s lives helping them live healthier in a more natural way.”

 

Leave a Reply

